Homeschooling in Thailand for a week’s holiday. Advice please!

I’ve just sent out a plea for help to the local homeschooling group in Dubai but I’ll do it here too. Please feel free to either respond to this post or email me on pjmontford@hotmail.com

My husband and I are considering a trip to Thailand in March for 10 days. Neither of us have ever been before. Basically, my husband needs a holiday somewhere with nice weather and he’d like to go East. BUT I want to find the educational angle and do some great ‘unschooling’ about Thai history and culture. 

 
Of course, we could do the usual tourist stuff (none of which I’ve researched yet) and visit some temples and read up about them in a guidebook but can anyone recommend a better approach? Or some really interesting historical/cultural places in Thailand? I guess we’ll have to hit the beach for my hubby at some point, not my fav thing unless there’s interesting sealife being washed up on the shore, but I hope to give my kids some great learning experiences too. Do you know any tour guides who could give us informative private tours?
 
Any suggestions? Or even, is there somewhere better you can recommend that would be a great homeschooling destination with nice weather and a short flight away from Dubai? 
We had an amazing homeschooling summer holiday in Paris and the Netherlands, which start here https://homeschoolingmiddleeast.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/homeschooling-adventures-in-paris-month-5-of-learning-at-home with gallery and historical site visits that I’d taught the kids about ahead of time and they learned so much. I’d love to do the same for this trip. Any advice would be most appreciated!
 
 
About homeschoolingpenny

Hi and welcome! My name is Penny and I used to live in Bahrain but In November 2012 moved to Dubai and now we live in Granada, Spain! If you want to contact me my email is pjmontford@hotmail.com. I recommend you start my blog on 'Day 1' but please enjoy whatever you dip into. 23 February 2012 marked the first day of no more school FOREVER for my two kids. Edward, who is nearly 10 had attended a variety of schools since he was very little. Petra, who is now 6, has never gone to school. On this date we decided Edward was never going back to school and Petra never would go to school. We hope to successfully homeschool from this day forward, although we would consider an alternative school as an option- if there was some amazing Sudbury or other really alternative school. Actually, I prefer the term 'home learning' than 'homeschool' because I don't like to think of school coming into our home. In fact, I hope to go further and guide/learn alongside, rather than teach, my kids using the 'unschooling' philosophy to instill a lifelong love of learning in them. We lived in the Middle East and now Spain all of which are very challenging places to home educate. This is an exciting journey that I used to blog about regularly, at first it was on an almost daily basis. Please join me on our travels and I hope we might be able to help each other out along the way. I certainly hope I can be a source of support and comfort and, in time, knowledge to all potential/presently participating homeschoolers/home educators/unschoolers. Good luck to us all! If you want to read about why I started home educating, why I pulled my son out of a 'very good' private school mid-term, how I felt at the very start and how my philosophy has evolved, please start from 'Day 1' of the blog. Please do post comments at the end of any days that you read. Your opinion is valuable and it's great to start up debate amongst other people commenting too, however old the post. Thank you for visiting homeschoolingmiddleeast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homeschooling in Thailand for a week’s holiday. Advice please!

  1. Dottie says:

    Can’t help with details as I know little about that region of the world. I did have a thought that might but of use or not. Perhaps before going to Thailand you might learn about each part of the region, then relax and enjoy being a tourist while there, after you return home try reading up about the places you visited and encourage them to express themselves in their own ways.

  2. Raymond Montford says:

    ________________________________ > Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2013 17:14:38 +0000 > To: raymond.montford@hotmail.co.uk >

  3. Abeer says:

    Thanks for keeping this blog- such an enjoyable read and full of resources, thank you! Xx

What do you think? Please do let me know. I would love to hear your opinion!

