Homeschooling Adventures in Paris, Part 3 – Month 5 of Learning at Home

We have enjoyed another wonderful day in Paris. We visited a little-known museum, a bit off the beaten track. I can hugely recommend it and as soon as we got home I provided only its second review on TripAdvisor. It’s called Musee en Herbe and they had a wonderful Vasarely exhibition, who was an Op’Art artist which is really accessible art for kids, based on optical illusions. The gallery cleverly provided games, based on Vasarely’s pictures, which the kids could participate in although Petra did spent most of our time there building a palace with some wooden building blocks they’d provided, which is something that of course she could have done at home – infuriating! But she was surrounded by wonderful art and having a lovely time so I can’t complain too bitterly! Edward also zeroed in on one particular game of putting together different coloured shapes, like a Tangram, so it was interesting to see what caught and held their attention for so long. I also found it interesting that each found one thing that really absorbed them whilst I flittered around from piece to piece trying to learn a little bit about everything. Who will remember more? I bet the kids do!

Musee en herbe, Paris

Then we explored the Metro, a bit more easily this time, and of course ended up in our favourite ice cream place, Amorinos, overlooking Notre Dame, close to our apartment. After a short rest we headed to our local park for a picnic sandwich supper on the grass. We have been so lucky with the weather. It’s been gloriously sunny every day although not too hot. The kids quickly spotted another child and introduced themselves. Well, we spent some time there in the end because her Mum and I got on very well and the kids had great fun chasing each other and climbing a tree. What bliss! The ability to make friends easily! We hope to meet up again tomorrow and I have been offered the opportunity to practice my French but it’s so limited I just feel embarrassed! But I would love to improve, so we’ll see! How amazing to meet someone you find very interesting, with a lot in common, in a park!

I am really disappointed with our few things I’m able to tick off my list of ‘must sees in Paris’ but I am trying to be philosophical about it and just enjoy whatever we do get to do; like the to-die-for pistachios éclairs we bought from the most beautiful art deco patisserie. Thanks to Petra who asked for a ‘blue one’ and didn’t like it, I got to eat something I found really sublime. One just has to go with the flow travelling with little ones.

Tomorrow was meant to be a science day, to balance the art and architecture we’ve been focusing on but I am desperate to see the Musee d’Orsay and so I think we might have to forego one for the other, especially if my insider’s tip works out for how to get in if there’s a massive queue! That would be worth making a new French friend for right there!! So wish us luck and I’ll let you know how we found the art ‘in the flesh’ that we’ve spent so long talking about.

AFTERWORD: If you would like to make life easier (who doesn’t?!) scroll down the right hand side of the page and click the ‘Follow’ button. Posts will be delivered to your email inbox until such time you may not want them any more.

Don’t feel shy! Please always feel free to email me (pjmontford@hotmail.com) or ideally post comments* on any of the days you read, however old they are. Commenting helps others who may well like to have more ideas or suggestions about the topic concerned or you can ask me a question that you think others might also like answers to.

If you’re too busy to comment that day, but enjoyed what you read, please do press the ‘Like’ button at the end of the post. Again, you have to have clicked on the title of the post to get the ‘Like’ button option at the end of the post. Commenting, ‘Liking’ and Following is much appreciated as it encourages more people to read homeschoolinginthemiddleeast! Any comments about Maths teaching is still especially appreciated and suggestions about resources warmly welcome, as per the plea in mypost. Take care. Have a great day and thank you for visiting.

*How to make a comment  If you are reading posts on the homepage, you will see at the bottom of the post, in tiny grey writing either e.g. ’7 comments’ or ‘Leave a comment’. Click on this to add yours. If you’ve clicked on the title of the post, you can see any comments that have been left already, and space for your own, right at the bottom of the page. Your views are valuable and it’s always good to have debate.

IF YOU’RE NEW TO HOMESCHOOLINGMIDDLEEAST, welcome! I highly recommend that you start reading from ‘Day 1’. The fastest way to access this is to look for ‘Archives’ on the right hand side of the home page, click on ‘February 2012’ and scroll down to the bottom of the page that opens. If you want a quick first visit, you could type a term e.g. ‘socialization’ or ‘university’, into the ‘Search’ box or of course you could just read my latest posts without doing anything!

Why I recommend starting at Day 1 is because this is an adventure into homeschooling that is not yet 3 months old and the journey has been a rollercoaster  – philosophically and emotionally, catalogued daily for the first couple of months. For you to get the full intellectual and dramatic impact, it’s best to start at the beginning. You might be contemplating home educating and wonder what those early nail-biting days feel like or you might enjoy reading somebody else’s take on an experience you share with me, or you might be more generally interested in my thoughts and feelings on education and parenting. Whatever the reason you’re reading, I’m really humbled that you’re taking your valuable time to do so and I really hope I can be some kind of hope or inspiration for you. Thank you! 

About homeschoolingpenny

Hi and welcome! My name is Penny and I used to live in Bahrain but In November 2012 moved to Dubai and now we live in Granada, Spain! If you want to contact me my email is pjmontford@hotmail.com. I recommend you start my blog on 'Day 1' but please enjoy whatever you dip into. 23 February 2012 marked the first day of no more school FOREVER for my two kids. Edward, who is nearly 10 had attended a variety of schools since he was very little. Petra, who is now 6, has never gone to school. On this date we decided Edward was never going back to school and Petra never would go to school. We hope to successfully homeschool from this day forward, although we would consider an alternative school as an option- if there was some amazing Sudbury or other really alternative school. Actually, I prefer the term 'home learning' than 'homeschool' because I don't like to think of school coming into our home. In fact, I hope to go further and guide/learn alongside, rather than teach, my kids using the 'unschooling' philosophy to instill a lifelong love of learning in them. We lived in the Middle East and now Spain all of which are very challenging places to home educate. This is an exciting journey that I used to blog about regularly, at first it was on an almost daily basis. Please join me on our travels and I hope we might be able to help each other out along the way. I certainly hope I can be a source of support and comfort and, in time, knowledge to all potential/presently participating homeschoolers/home educators/unschoolers. Good luck to us all! If you want to read about why I started home educating, why I pulled my son out of a 'very good' private school mid-term, how I felt at the very start and how my philosophy has evolved, please start from 'Day 1' of the blog. Please do post comments at the end of any days that you read. Your opinion is valuable and it's great to start up debate amongst other people commenting too, however old the post. Thank you for visiting homeschoolingmiddleeast.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Unschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Please do let me know. I would love to hear your opinion!

