“I LOVE learning, Mummy! And I especially like learning when we’re homeschooling!” – Month 4 of Learning at Home

This morning Edward said, “I LOVE learning, Mummy! And I especially like learning when we’re homeschooling!” My heart soared! Yeah! Yeah!

I think Thursday was just a bump in the road. I guess we were just really in need of the weekend, even with very gentle ‘learning at home’! He’s still learning some complex stuff even if it’s not in spades. We had a nice variety of learning today. He started the day reading a bit of gentle historical fiction (the Biff and Chip ‘Time Chronicles‘ series, I can’t recommend it enough). I read a ‘Katie’ book, I think ‘Katie and the Bathers‘. We did some geography, it came up in wonderful ‘Life of Fred‘ which was slotting in some simple subtraction alongside the story of Magellan’s first round-the-world voyage (5 ships went out, 1 came back, so 4 sank). Apparently, Magellan named the Pacific Ocean and we talked about why he had given it this name (it was calm after the very stormy Atlantic Ocean around South America) and we looked up his journey on a 2D map and a 3D globe. Edward soon said he’s had enough and wanted to get back to the Maths and I ALWAYS stop when he asks. We had discussed some important concepts. I think we even slipped in some biology because ‘Life of Fred’ mentioned germs and bacteria!

We finished our DVD about the restoration of Leonardo’s Saint Anne. Unfortunately, we’ll miss the special exhibition about this by 3 days. The DVD is aimed at adults but we paused it every now and then to discuss  it.

We visited an art exhibition and discussed how people exhibit and why and there there was coincidentally a breastfeeding informal gathering which we joined and the kids were party to our discussions about attachment parenting whilst eating their cookies. Good stuff. And then a friend came over in the afternoon with her 4 month old baby which I always think is great for the kids; to learn about and be tender towards a baby. And Edward did some Lego building which he calls ‘his inventions’ and says that when we move house he wants plenty of room in his new bedroom to make inventions and science potions – scary! He’s going to build Frankenstein II in there!!

And then we had an amazing art class. The fantastic artist-teacher put up a paddling pool, the kids got wet, were painted head-to-toe in watercolours and rolled and printed their body parts on long stretches of paper taped down in the car park of the Bahrain Arts Centre! If that doesn’t give the message Art = Fun I don’t know what does!! Unfortunately, the Arts Centre management went crazy, which was such a shame but the kids had a wild time! Edward, of course, did he own thing. He kept on with his amazing, scary portrait that he’s doing for the last few weeks on a found piece of wood. He’s been painting under the guidance of another amazing artist. I feel incredibly blessed that she’s taken his contrary, individual, incredibly creative spirit under her wing. She’s such an inspiration.

So we had, as usual, an incredibly full day, that didn’t look at all like school but was full of learning. I think both kids went to bed feeling that today, as every day, they were valued, their thoughts and opinions were recognised and counted, they were cuddled, kissed and were looked at directly in the eyes when we spoke, they were around interesting adults and a variety of children (in both cases, some familiar, some not) and that the world is an interesting and colourful place, sometimes literally! I look forward to waking up tomorrow and looking at the world through their eyes again. And I will remind them that I am the luckiest Mummy in the world to have them as my children and I’m the luckiest Mummy in the world that I get to spend all day with them – thanks to our decision to learn at home (which I always thank Edward for instigating) and thanks to Daddy who works so hard so I don’t have to work outside the home too. I can sleep with a peaceful soul tonight with “I LOVE learning, Mummy! And I especially like learning when we’re homeschooling!” Yeah! Yeah!

About homeschoolingpenny

Hi and welcome! My name is Penny and I used to live in Bahrain but In November 2012 moved to Dubai and now we live in Granada, Spain! If you want to contact me my email is pjmontford@hotmail.com. I recommend you start my blog on 'Day 1' but please enjoy whatever you dip into. 23 February 2012 marked the first day of no more school FOREVER for my two kids. Edward, who is nearly 10 had attended a variety of schools since he was very little. Petra, who is now 6, has never gone to school. On this date we decided Edward was never going back to school and Petra never would go to school. We hope to successfully homeschool from this day forward, although we would consider an alternative school as an option- if there was some amazing Sudbury or other really alternative school. Actually, I prefer the term 'home learning' than 'homeschool' because I don't like to think of school coming into our home. In fact, I hope to go further and guide/learn alongside, rather than teach, my kids using the 'unschooling' philosophy to instill a lifelong love of learning in them. We lived in the Middle East and now Spain all of which are very challenging places to home educate. This is an exciting journey that I used to blog about regularly, at first it was on an almost daily basis. Please join me on our travels and I hope we might be able to help each other out along the way. I certainly hope I can be a source of support and comfort and, in time, knowledge to all potential/presently participating homeschoolers/home educators/unschoolers. Good luck to us all! If you want to read about why I started home educating, why I pulled my son out of a 'very good' private school mid-term, how I felt at the very start and how my philosophy has evolved, please start from 'Day 1' of the blog. Please do post comments at the end of any days that you read. Your opinion is valuable and it's great to start up debate amongst other people commenting too, however old the post. Thank you for visiting homeschoolingmiddleeast.
This entry was posted in Bahrain, Education, Homeschooling, Philosophy, Unschooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I LOVE learning, Mummy! And I especially like learning when we’re homeschooling!” – Month 4 of Learning at Home

  1. I am so glad to hear that you are able to see the learning more today. Today, really did seem to have been a wonderful learning day for sure. Now print out this blog post and put it up where you can easily read it whenever you start questioning your journey.

  2. YAY! I am so happy and feeling the learning blast! Good luck Penny.

  3. shaema imam says:

    Sounds like such a nice way to learn!

What do you think? Please do let me know. I would love to hear your opinion!

