Day 3 of Homeschooling in the Middle East – Ziglar: Education by Apprenticeship

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I recently read a really motivating and inspiring book called ‘Better Than Good – Creating a Life You Can’t Wait to Live’ by Zig Ziglar. He says, ‘Many people today don’t realize this, but there was a time when lawyers, doctors, and other professionals (not to mention tradespeople) learned their skills by studying with a mentor… The loss of education by apprenticeship is one of the sad results of our modern, classroom-based educational system.’ Home education gives plenty of opportunity for finding mentors, to nurture a passion and possibly turn it into a lifelong skill. This is really exciting. It could be for an academic subject like Maths or a more hands-on skill like building with blocks, levers and pulleys or something.  I’d be happy if my son, aged 7, found a ‘Lego’ guru 😉

What I realized today is that, despite it being a weekend, the way I’ve always been with my kids affords many educational opportunities. I’ve always been mentoring them and this never stops, weekends or holidays. It’s just a fun part of our life. I gave our 3 year old a lesson on cooking pasta today, just because she asked for it. But I really focused. I consciously saw it as an educational opportunity to talk about how the heat makes the water boils, that the hot water makes the spaghetti soft etc… As Sherri Linsenbach says in her ‘Everything Homeschooling Handbook’, which I’m reading at the moment, “Homeschooled children tend to experience more quality educational hours than do their conventional-school counterparts. This is mainly due to the fact that homeschool parents regularly capitalize on the educational opportunities that arise, seeing them for the knowledge or experience they can convey, rather than considering them a normal part of daily life.”, “By making the most of everyday events, we help our children to understand and learn from these opportunities”. Absolutely. And if your kids are at school, as one of mine was, why not see if you can do this too? I’ve always really enjoyed it and still think it’s something that not so much marks me out as an obvious home educator but simply as a loving, committed parent which you are too.

Please always feel free to post comments on any of the days you read, however old they are. Your views are valuable and it’s always good to have debate. If you’re busy but enjoyed that day’s blog, please do press the ‘Like’ button at the end of the post. It would be much appreciated as it helps encourage more people to read homeschoolinginthemiddleeast! Any comments about Maths teaching is especially appreciated and suggestions about resources warmly welcome!

About homeschoolingpenny

Hi and welcome! My name is Penny and I used to live in Bahrain but In November 2012 moved to Dubai and now we live in Granada, Spain! If you want to contact me my email is pjmontford@hotmail.com. I recommend you start my blog on 'Day 1' but please enjoy whatever you dip into. 23 February 2012 marked the first day of no more school FOREVER for my two kids. Edward, who is nearly 10 had attended a variety of schools since he was very little. Petra, who is now 6, has never gone to school. On this date we decided Edward was never going back to school and Petra never would go to school. We hope to successfully homeschool from this day forward, although we would consider an alternative school as an option- if there was some amazing Sudbury or other really alternative school. Actually, I prefer the term 'home learning' than 'homeschool' because I don't like to think of school coming into our home. In fact, I hope to go further and guide/learn alongside, rather than teach, my kids using the 'unschooling' philosophy to instill a lifelong love of learning in them. We lived in the Middle East and now Spain all of which are very challenging places to home educate. This is an exciting journey that I used to blog about regularly, at first it was on an almost daily basis. Please join me on our travels and I hope we might be able to help each other out along the way. I certainly hope I can be a source of support and comfort and, in time, knowledge to all potential/presently participating homeschoolers/home educators/unschoolers. Good luck to us all! If you want to read about why I started home educating, why I pulled my son out of a 'very good' private school mid-term, how I felt at the very start and how my philosophy has evolved, please start from 'Day 1' of the blog. Please do post comments at the end of any days that you read. Your opinion is valuable and it's great to start up debate amongst other people commenting too, however old the post. Thank you for visiting homeschoolingmiddleeast.
This entry was posted in Education, Homeschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 of Homeschooling in the Middle East – Ziglar: Education by Apprenticeship

  1. I love what you say about a Lego Guru. Perfect. The whole notion of apprenticeship learning is perfect.

    I really enjoy seeing what my kids are interested in and what that might say about who they are and who they may become. With my older two kids I have years of pieces to play around with to find common events or issues to see a partial picture of their true selves. I love trying to figure out the puzzle but I know only they will be able to and then I will be just sitting back saying “Yeah, this is you, ho you were meant to be.”

What do you think? Please do let me know. I would love to hear your opinion!

